Cookies used in this website are gluten free, wheat free and dairy free. By using this website you agree to our use of cookies. More Info
Guest
Login Below
Join Us On Social Media!
   
Get The Model Boats App!
Apple App Store
Android app on Google Play


Help Support This Website
£
or enter custom amount

(Non Contributor)

Help support this free
website and donate.



£285 a year is needed to keep the website and apps online. Please consider donating £5 or more to help towards these fees.
All donations are securely managed through PayPal. Amounts donated are not published online.

Many thanks for your kind support.

Model Boats Website Team


Donation History
December 2017: 4 people
November 2017: 13 people
October 2017: 9 people
September 2017: 15 people
August 2017: 10 people
July 2017: 16 people
June 2017: 8 people
May 2017: 8 people
April 2017: 17 people


Unique Visitors This Month

Website Members

Terms and Conditions
Privacy Policy
Advertising
Contact


Model Boats Website
Active Users (7)
Login or Register
To Remove This Ad

Login or Register
To Remove This Ad
>> Home > Forum > Anything Website Related > Apostrophe problem ?
Apostrophe problem ?
(760 views)
Author Message
robbob
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 57
30th Oct 2016 22:07  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24132

Why is it that whenever I use an apostrophe in my build blog text it appears as a bunch of seemingly random characters.
I can edit the posting to correct it and it then works, but why not in the original posting ?
It's quite, curious isn't it ?
Robbob.


"Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana"
octman
(Captain)





Forum Posts: 99
31st Oct 2016 14:27  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24146

Even the BBC has this problem, in the ticker tape on the their early morning news programme. Very annoying. Also, whilst on the topic, why in the build blogs does a capital I get used when it should be lower case?

Chris


robbob
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 57
31st Oct 2016 15:40  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24147

Equally curious is the fact that in my original forum post the apostrophes in my last line "It's quite curious isn't it ?" appear correctly but used in a
blog text will appear as garbage that needs subsequent editing.
And I have also noticed the odd capitalisation of the letter 'I'
Robbob.




"Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana"
Fireboat
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 257
31st Oct 2016 16:08  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24150

There is a technical explanation. Also it's something that is fixable. I simply haven't had the chance to do this as it would need to be fixed at the same time as all database queries. The website has lots!

When loading data into a database there are apostrophes already within the server code itself. To avoid it getting confused on what is code and what is the text it's copying in, it uses a backslash. Otherwise known as an escape character. You'll also see it in RSS feeds sometimes, similar principle there. It's likely what the BBC ticker tape is reading.

That said, queries can be designed differently, the editing scripts are different to the creation scripts for posts on here. All however need a revamp as technology has moved on quite a bit since the original server code was written. There is a new technology called SQL improved, which is much more secure than the old SQL and negates the need for escape characters (back slashes).

When will it be fixed? I can't say. Maybe these Christmas holidays. It's solid days of work to update the whole website to the new technology. The database is a fundamental part of every webpage, the mobile apps, rss feeds and the notification system.

Once things are upgraded I'll be fixing all past posts to ensure no more backslashes are around.

Ps. Don't mention emoji compatibility! That's a whole other headache to manage 😉

Stephen


🚤
robbob
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 57
31st Oct 2016 17:19  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24151

Hi Stephen.
Thanks for the explanation even though most of it went waaaaay over my head.
I quite an advocate of correct grammar and punctuation (but not a pedant!) so I'll keep using the apostrophe but
I don't envy your task of fixing the problem.
I'll try to resist the urge to use emojis 😉 .......failed.
Robbob.


"Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana"
Haverlock
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 425
5th Nov 2016 06:50  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/24212

Rob its simple ( honest ) there are control characters within the code being used and the apostrophe is one of them. So when you use one the code "sees" it as a control not text.




"that's not a bug its just an undocumented creature."

Sir Terence David John "Terry" Pratchett, OBE (28 April 1948 - 12 March 2015)
RNinMunich
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 1126
2nd May 2017 12:19  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/27991

Keep up the good work Stephen, you're doing a great job 👍 Imagine if you were using a German keyboard like I have to 😉 have to keep switching input languages, otherwise the apostrophe comes out as "~", just one example amongst many 😲


Young at heart - slightly older in other places 😉 cheers Doug