Cookies used in this website are gluten free, wheat free and dairy free. By using this website you agree to our use of cookies. More Info
Guest
Login Below
Join Us On Social Media!
   
Get The Model Boats App!
Apple App Store
Android app on Google Play


Help Support This Website
£
or enter custom amount

(Non Contributor)

Help support this free
website and donate.



£285 a year is needed to keep the website and apps online. Please consider donating £5 or more to help towards these fees.
All donations are securely managed through PayPal. Amounts donated are not published online.

Many thanks for your kind support.

Model Boats Website Team


Donation History
August 2017: 7 people
July 2017: 16 people
June 2017: 8 people
May 2017: 8 people
April 2017: 23 people
March 2017: 9 people
February 2017: 12 people
January 2017: 17 people


Unique Visitors This Month

Website Members

Terms and Conditions
Privacy Policy
Advertising
Contact


Model Boats Website
Active Users (13)
Login or Register
To Remove This Ad

Login or Register
To Remove This Ad
>> Home > Forum > Electrical Related > 2 motors 1 esc
2 motors 1 esc
(682 views)
Author Message
none
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 185
22nd Mar 2017 17:34  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26958

Is it possible to use 2 x 12 volt motors but using only one ESC.

Or do I need one ESC for each motor.

If one is possible for both motors what would be the best ampage one to look out for.

Dave M
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 1228
22nd Mar 2017 20:57  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26963

If brushless no you can't.
If they are brushed motors it's possible but they need to be matched closely otherwise one will run faster than the other. Ideally you need to try the motors side by side measuring the current drawn and speed. If you have a local supplier with several motors available this may be possible but not on-line.
The ESC will need to be able to supply (ideally) double the stall current of both motors. If this is not on the label with the motor you can connect one of them to your chosen battery with an ammeter in series and briefly grip the shaft between two pieces of wood and stop the motor. The reading when stopped is the stall current but this should be for a max of 1 second to avoid damaging the motor. Multiply this reading by four and that is the max amperage for the ESC.
It may be cheaper to buy two ESC's and use a Y lead to connect to a single Rx channel. This will also lessen the effect of using two identical but possibly mismatched motors.
Hope this helps
Dave


Live long and prosper

Dave
none
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 185
23rd Mar 2017 07:34  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26969

I was looking at these as motors.
using 12 volts.

3 - pole electric motor with integral cooling fan and high quality carbon brushes.

Two flux rings offering high torque motor.

Originally specified for Black and Decker power tools, these motors are of the highest quality and recognised as one of the most useful model motors currently available
.

Suitable for 6 - 12 volt applications.

No Load speeds approx.

4.8V 1.7A 8500 RPM

6V 1.9A 12000 RPM

7.2V 1.9A 13500 RPM

9V 2A 20000 RPM

Dimensions: L65mm, D36mm, Shaft diameter 3.2mm
Off load Current: 1.57A

Dave M
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 1228
23rd Mar 2017 09:17  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26970

I have used this type of motor and they work well. If you are after torque then a five pole motor will give more. You are running at excess voltage so they will exhibit some stress if run at full power for any length of time. You should measure the current at 12v to see what is being drawn, I believe mine when connected and running free used to draw about 2.5 amps on 12v. It will be considerably more under load. I used three 0.1 uF capacitors across the terminals and case as they will spark at the higher voltage. Do also make sure that all your (dirty) power wiring is well clear of any servo wires and the rx and aerial.
They can be quite current hungry and I used an Electronize ESC on each motor. Any good 20/25 amp ESC will be suitable but if you are using two and they have a built in ESC you need to remove the red (+ve) wire from one ESC lead to the Rx.
Good luck and please post details of your final choice and experience.
Dave


Live long and prosper

Dave
none
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 185
23rd Mar 2017 10:23  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26972

Hi Dave thanks for the reply

Now. Placed the order for the motors

Just now looking for dual esc and thought eBay might be a good place start for price ranges

Any suggestions welcome

figtree7nts
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 318
23rd Mar 2017 12:01  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26975

Hi Sonar,

Why not try two Mtroniks Viper Marine ESC!
http://www.cornwallmodelboats.co.uk/acatalog/mtroniks-viper2...
Or
http://www.cornwallmodelboats.co.uk/acatalog/electronize-FR30HX.html
Both ESC's Available from Cornwall Model Boats, Just an idea
Ed


"Fair winds calm Seas"
none
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 185
23rd Mar 2017 12:12  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26978

Many thanks for the suggestion
I will take a look
Funny you should mention this website as I just ordered the props from them just a few seconds ago

none
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 185
23rd Mar 2017 14:58  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26979

There are hundreds if not thousands of 0.1 uF capacitors across the terminals on Ebay what would be the better to buy.

figtree7nts
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 318
23rd Mar 2017 15:21  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26982

Take a look here!
"Soldering suppressors to motor"
I do have a good description of the ratings and what to do take a look!

Ed


"Fair winds calm Seas"
figtree7nts
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 318
23rd Mar 2017 15:29  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26983

Another suggestion is to look on the Cornwall Model Boat Website for their recommended Capacitors.


"Fair winds calm Seas"
Dave M
(Fleet Admiral!)





Forum Posts: 1228
23rd Mar 2017 20:16  
>> Permalink
mdlbt.com/26990

Hi Sonar
I suggest you try maplins http://www.maplin.co.uk/. Look under components/capacitors and you want the second page ceramic capacitors 0.1uf.
If you have a local outlet it will be quicker.
You do not need a dual ESC two identical ESC's is the way to go.
If you are considering Mtronik look at http://www.mtroniks.net/cat/ex-demo
I have used several of their ESC's and they work well. The ex-demo refers to ESC's that have been tested to spec, so you do know that they will work.
Dave


Live long and prosper

Dave